Trainer Blog: Tracey Collins

Tracey Collins has been training at Conyngham Lodge on The Curragh since taking out her licence in 2007. She has 25 horses in training and has some useful horses which will represent her well this season.

Tracey has more than held her own in a profession that is arguably the best in the world and has enjoyed some great days with Group victories in Ireland, England and Dubai.

Her horses always look well and have been running accordingly and she said, ‘This is a family business, my  sister, Sheena and I  are lucky to have the staff we have headed by Hazel Wallace. The horses are healthy and well and I take great pride in making sure that the horses are well turned out when they are racing and that is all down to the staff that I have.’

‘I have some wonderful owners, some of whom have been here for a long time and we have some very nice horses and I think Meetyouatthemoon, Three Sisters and Calgath, who finished third in what looked a strong maiden at The Curragh on 1000 Guineas Day, will do well for us this season.’

Meetyouatthemoon
Meetyouatthemoon Wins At Dundalk

Tracey has leased Frozen Moon to a syndicate made up of Horseracing Ireland employees.

He ran an encouraging race on his debut at Leopardstown a week ago and is due to run again at Listowel on Sunday.  ‘He was very green at Leopardstown, but he’s a well related horse that I like. He was raw and will come on a good bit for his run the last day. All of his family have won, but they were late maturing types, which didn’t show their best until they were three or four, so I’m hopeful there’s plenty of improvement in him”.

Getting back to some of the fillies, she said, ‘it’s important with fillies to try and get some black type into their pedigrees and that would be the long term aim for all the fillies. It won’t be easy and we’ll try and get them to win their maidens first. At this time of the year, maidens are very hard to win and there is a great trade for horses which perform well in them.’

‘You get nothing easy in Ireland. No matter where you go, every race, everyday, you are taking on some of the best trainers in the world, so it’s very satisfying when the horses run well.

I love training and I’ve been involved in horses all my life. I think the Curragh is the best place in the world to train and I consider myself very fortunate to be doing something I love.’

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

