Tote Inside Track – Johnny Levins – 1st July

We had another busy week as we ran seven horses in total.

We ran three at the Curragh on their opening day of their Derby meeting. Your Pal Tal wasn’t beaten that far in 7th. The ground was too slow for him and I have pulled him out in the past when the ground came up soft, but I took the view that I needed a run into him as he can get bored at home and go out of form. He holds an entry in the Scurry handicap worth €100,000 and I need to keep him ticking over as this is his main target. He may have one more run in the lead up to this target.

Johnny work
Some of Johnny’s string working on the Curragh 

Brokopondo ran a blinder in the apprentice (Derby) to finish 2nd off a career high mark of 75 and  you must remember he was once rated just 44 .He got a lovely ride by Denis Linehan who I found to be a lovely chap that has a future in this game. Lex Talionis ran well and finished 5th. He will get an unwanted visit from our vets this week as I have him booked in to be castrated. This I feel will help him concentrate that bit more and I’m hoping it will provide the necessary improvement I need to see him perform better in the track.

Oliver’s Wish ran a nice race on Saturday. He ran very keen as a typical baby can do and he paid the price in the last furlong when he blew up but what I liked is he didn’t get really tired and stayed on one paced. He will come on a lot for this run.

We headed to Sligo on Tuesday. Hard Times hated the track and never travelled at all. I was worried about the track but I felt I was getting soft ground and needed to get him out. It didn’t work out and I will give him an entry next week at Tipperary.

Jumbo Sligo
Jumbo Steps winning at Sligo

Jumbo Steps is as close to a friend as one can be with a horse. He was my very first winner as a trainer and for good measure he was my second winner as well. I had him for two seasons and the time came for him to be sold. I bought him back just before Christmas as he was a good workhorse and he could lead the better horses in their work and also show the 2yos around the gallops. He slotted in to this role really well but Jumbo being Jumbo, he got bored and I ended up needing to run him to keep him happy. The manner in which he won can only suggest he would be up to winning again and when he gets bored at home we will pop him out for maybe another winner!

Touch Of Frost had what I thought was a disappointing run on Wednesday but when we got him home we noticed he had spread a plate and the nail was pressing against his foot and resulted him being lame. The blacksmith was on hand to address the offending nail and once he removed it and relieved the pain he was sound and more at ease. He is fine now and hopefully we can get him back out soon.

We have two runners over the weekend at Naas. Satori runs in the 6f handicap. He will need the run as he came home from his last race very sore and needed a lot of time off. I would expect him to improve for the run.

Brokopondo came out of his race very well and I will be expecting a good solid run as this lad is as tough as they come. He runs off 78 which puts him on top weight and it will be a tough task but I gave up doubting this lad a long time ago.

Johnny TRM
Johnny visits TRM Nutrition

I was given a tour of what goes on behind the scenes at the manufactures of TRM Nutrition.

To me it’s very important as a trainer I get to see the science behind the supplements in which I am feeding my equine athletes. It was very informative and helpful and if it improves my horses a half a length then it will be well worth it as it’s all about fractions in sport.

I see Postponed is 5/1 for the Arc. He is one of the best horses in training as he seems to possess all the credentials needed to be a champion; speed, acceleration, stamina and the will to win. My advice would be to snap that price up as quickly as you can.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

