Tote Inside Track – Johnny Levins – 18th June 2016

Now that was a week of racing to savour, I have no doubt that the Royal Ascot meeting is out on its own as the greatest meeting in the world as it attracts global competition.

This week I am going to focus on the two year old races. The Queen Mary winner, Lady Aurelia, put up one of the most devastating displays seen in modern times.The US raider did not see one rival throughout the contest, winning the race by 7 lengths and you must remember she wasn’t drawn in an ideal position and she was on ground that should of blunted her speed.

Turning our attentions to the Coventry Stakes, Caravaggio was my nap of the meeting. He raced on the stand side in his group and ended up on the other making it an even more impressive performance. He got lonely in front and Ryan quite cleverly keep his momentum going by allowing him to drift over to the far group for company and still win. You must remember a horse running in a zig-zag is covering more ground than running in a straight line meaning you can upgrade this performance even further. He has a lot of natural speed and a competitive attitude and I would imagine if Aiden can stretch him out to a mile we may have witnessed our future champion miler.

Unfortunately Bective did not take up his engagement in the Windsor Castle due to unsuitable ground, it wasn’t an easy decision and I had to be very disciplined as the whole occasion could easily sway you to run him. I was very lucky as I had Shane Lyons walking the track for me Sunday afternoon and once I explained to him the type of horse I had, he assured me the ground would not suit by Tuesday.

Touch Of Frost ran in the 6f claiming race at Limerick on Friday, this guy was in for €15,000and to be honest I thought he was going to be claimed. I was happy enough to bring him home as he ran a nice race in finishing 2nd. The ground was a little bit quick for him and he didn’t handle coming down the hill. I feel this fella will improve throughout the season and should add a couple of winners to the board for us.

Seapoint was by no means disgraced in finishing 4th. She was never happy on the ground and she was very uncomfortable coming down the hill. When the pace quickened it unbalanced her galloping at speed this was very noticeable as she couldn’t keep a straight line, changing her legs and stumbling. Donagh accepted this inside the last furlong and kept her together to mind her. She does want fast ground, but sometimes the two year olds can take a run on it as we always work them on nice safe ground at home. I  would imagine the race will stand to her and we will see a completely different filly the next day.

Lex  Talionis runs in the Ulster Derby at Down Royal and is in great form at home. He has a nice racing weight, over a trip that should bring out the best in him. It’s a very valuable pot and has been in the back of my mind to target him at this race since his winter break.

Brosnan runs in the Ulster Oaks. She has been very consistent since we gave her a break. She is in great form and I have no doubt that this is a strong renewal of the race andshe needs to have improved and be at her best to be involved. Both trip and ground will suit her and it’s worth a shot at this big pot.

Brokopondo ran a rare poor race last time out but I fully take the blame as Donagh had a plan in his head and I changed his mind in the parade ring on how to ride him. As a result he ran far to keen and never got a breather. Today I think I will just ask Ronnie what he wants to do. He is in good form an I expect he will go close.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

