Tote Inside Track – Johnny Levins – 10th June 2016

It was a very busy week for us as in total we ran seven horses, we had one winner and six placed with one finishing 5th all in all it was a pleasant week!

RP_ID00251419.jpg
Bubblesontherise finishing 3rd at the Curragh

Bubblesontherise ran very well (3rd) in her maiden. She was very quick out of the stalls and was probably doing too much as a result. It was over 6f and I would imagine dropping her back a furlong would suite even better. She will hold an entry in the Tote Rockingham and I will see what mark we get from the handicapper.

RP_ID00251429.jpg
Your Pal Tal winning at the Curragh

Your Pal Tal won his race in what appeared to be convincing style. He wasn’t flying at home and I wasn’t 100% sure what to expect, but I did feel and hoped that the racecourse would give him the spark he needed. Ronan reported after the race that he has felt better and that he thought he would come on for it. He is back doing his canters now and we have noticed him in better form since his run, and this has me looking forward to another crack at the scurry on Oaks weekend, a race he was second in last year!

Rateel finished 3rd on Monday and Wednesday and unfortunately he had wide draws both days and to his credit he ran very well both days.

Both Mr Right and Lex Talionis ran solid races (3rd) and (4th). Both suffered interference and I would have no problem in upgrading their runs.

Deeds Not Words (5th) was very disappointing in what looked a winning opportunity. I feel there is something amiss with him and I will investigate and see if I can find the issue. If we do find something and correct it then we will have a very well handicapped horse.

Runners this week will be light as we normally freshen them up during Royal Ascot. This means I can concentrate on my runner at Ascot and not be worried about what’s working and racing at home. We are nearly half way into the season and a week on the easy for a fit horse is massive and can make them last right up to the end of the season.

Hard Times is entered on Monday and if we get the rain that is forecast then this guy will have a live chance as I couldn’t be happier with the form he is in.

Bective
Bective in preparation for Royal Ascot

Royal Ascot is a very special place and I’m delighted to be involved with a runner. Bective is in the Coventry/Windsor Castle and at the moment I am leaning towards the Windsor Castle. He has done all his work by now and I am very pleased with how his training as gone up to now. He has shown me that he has improved enough to quietly give him a live chance. He is keeping my trend going as my 2yo’s improve with every run, this lads improvement from his second run to his third was massive and I feel I will have him spot on come Tuesday.

It will be very hard to pick winners as their will be so many top class horses taking each other on and the one horse that I think the world of is the 2yo from Ballydoyle Caravaggio. He may run in the Coventry and will take all the beating.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

